Blessing for the Woods

April 16, 2011

Before I leave, almost without noticing, 
before I cross the road and head toward 
what I have intentionally postponed—

Let me stop to say a blessing for these woods: 
for crows barking and squirrels scampering, 
for trees and fungus and multi-colored leaves,

for the way sunlight laces with shadows 
through each branch and leaf of tree, 
for these paths that take me in, 
for these paths that lead me out.

– Michael S. Glaser, as posted on spiritoftrees.org.

One Response to “Blessing for the Woods”

  1. Suze said

    Shawn, I love your blessings.

Leave a Reply

