Blessing of the Sea Snakes

May 16, 2011

The Water Snakes by Wily Pogany (image scanned by George P. Landow)

The Water Snakes by Wily Pogany (image scanned by George P. Landow)

Beyond the shadow of the ship,
I watched the water-snakes:
They moved in tracks of shining white,
And when they reared, the elfish light
Fell off in hoary flakes.

Within the shadow of the ship
I watched their rich attire:
Blue, glossy green, and velvet black,
They coiled and swam; and every track
Was a flash of golden fire.

O happy living things! no tongue
Their beauty might declare:
A spring of love gushed from my heart,
And I blessed them unaware:
Sure my kind saint took pity on me,
And I blessed them unaware.

The selfsame moment I could pray;
And from my neck so free
The Albatross fell off, and sank
Like lead into the sea.

 excerpt from The Rime of the Ancient Mariner by Samuel Taylor Coleridge (1772-1834)

One Response to “Blessing of the Sea Snakes”

  1. Suze said

    This makes me think of forgiveness.

Leave a Reply

