Navajo Rain Chant

June 27, 2011

Far as man can see,
Comes the rain,
Comes the rain with me.

From the Rain-Mount,
Rain-Mount far away,
Comes the rain,
Comes the rain with me.

O’er the corn,
O’er the corn, tall corn,
Comes the rain,
Comes the rain with me.

’Mid the lightnings,
’Mid the lightnings zigzag,
’Mid the lightnings flashing,
Comes the rain,
Comes the rain with me.

’Mid the swallows,
’Mid the swallows blue,
Chirping glad together,
Comes the rain,
Comes the rain with me.

Through the pollen,
Through the pollen blest,
All in pollen hidden,
Comes the rain,
Comes the rain with me.

Far as man can see,
Comes the rain,
Comes the rain with me.

– Navajo song from Path of the Rainbow, ed. G. W. Cronyn (1918).

One Response to “Navajo Rain Chant”

  1. Suze said

    By the time I got to the end of this beautiful verse, I couldn’t swallow the knot of tears (soul rain?) at the top of my throat.

    Yes, yes, a thousand times, yes.

Leave a Reply

