In a cave

September 11, 2011

A maskil [contemplative prayer] of David when he was in the cave.

I cry out to the Lord; I pray to the Lord for mercy.
I pour out my problems to him; I tell him my troubles.
When I am afraid, you, Lord, know the way out.
In the path where I walk, a trap is hidden for me.
Look around me and see. No one cares about me.
I have no place of safety; no one cares if I live.
Lord, I cry out to you. I say, “You are my protection.
You are all I want in this life.”
Listen to my cry, because I am helpless.
Save me from those who are chasing me,
because they are too strong for me.
Free me from my prison, and then I will praise your name.
Then good people will surround me, because you have taken care of me.

– Psalm 142 from the New Century Version

One Response to “In a cave”

  1. Suze said

    It is lovely, indeed, to be surrounded by good people.

Leave a Reply

